BMW DTM M3 Tom Coronel test, Jerez 2013

BMW Motorsport DTM M3 Tom Coronel test, Jerez 2013 (Deutsche Tourenwagen Meisterschaft)

Coronel wins the 2013 BMW Sports Trophy — ROAL Motorsport takes top honours in new Team Competition.

Munich (DE), 7th December 2013. BMW Motorsport honoured the most successful participants in the BMW Sports Trophy for the 52nd time on Saturday. BMW Motorsport Director Jens Marquardt presented the most successful privateer BMW drivers with their trophies at the award ceremony in the Doppelkegel building at BMW Welt in Munich (DE), ably assisted by long-time BMW driver Alessandro Zanardi (IT). The best BMW privateer teams of the season were also recognised for the first time. First place in the Drivers’ Competition went to Tom Coronel (NL). He won two races in the FIA World Touring Car Championship (WTCC) at the wheel of his BMW 320 TC. As a reward for his efforts, he received 30,000 Euros in prize money and the opportunity to test the BMW M3 DTM, which he did last Sunday in Jerez (ES).

“I would like to congratulate Tom Coronel on winning the 2013 BMW Sports Trophy,” said BMW Motorsport Director Jens Marquardt. “He has been a popular and successful member of the BMW family for some years now and has impressed in the World Touring Car Championship with consistently good performances. He has certainly more than earned the winner’s trophy, prize money and his laps in the BMW M3 DTM.”

Coronel said: “It is a great feeling to know that you have been the most successful privateer BMW driver in the world this season. I have been driving for BMW for a long time now, and am obviously delighted that my performances have been recognised. To be the best among so many fantastic drivers in the BMW Sports Trophy is by no means something you take for granted.”

Coronel was thrilled by his outing in the BMW M3 DTM: “It was a great experience — and a very special one. After so many years in the World Touring Car Championship, I was particularly pleased to be back in a car with so much downforce. I had the same feeling as I used to get during my time in single-seaters or in Le Mans. You can really push racing cars like that to the very limit — particularly in quick corners. This challenge is far greater in a DTM car than in other cars.”

Second and third place in the competition for privateer drivers went to Coronel’s WTCC colleagues Stefano D’Aste (IT) and Mehdi Bennani (MA). They picked up 25,000 Euros and 21,000 Euros in prize money respectively for their efforts. In total, 259 BMW privateers from 26 different countries took part in the 2013 BMW Sports Trophy. They appeared as ambassadors for BMW in 48 racing series around the world. The prize purse of 250,000 is distributed among the top 25 drivers.

The Team Competition made its debut in 2013. All BMW Sports Trophy teams were able to submit their results over the course of the season, in the hope that they would then be honoured at BMW Welt. Thirty six teams, active in 32 racing series, entered the new competition. First place, and with it a valuable parts package, went to ROAL Motorsport. The team led by former BMW DTM champion Roberto Ravaglia (IT) came out on top thanks to impressive results in the World Touring Car Championship and victory in the Team competition in the Italian GT Championship. Second place went to Team Engstler, with the Adrenalin Motorsport team third.

“The new Team Competition was a great success in its first year and has been very well received by our privateers,” said Marquardt. “BMW Motorsport is well aware of the enormous importance of its ambassadors all over the world. Therefore, it is important to us that we not only honour the drivers at the end of the 52nd year of the BMW Sports Trophy, but also the teams. Congratulations to Roberto Ravaglia and his team.”

“That’s my 29th visit at BMW Motorsport’s season ending party, and I’m very proud of being here as Team Principal and receiving this award,” said Ravaglia. “This victory not only belongs to the whole team, but also to our drivers.”

Final results of the 2013 Drivers’ Competition.

Pos Name Country Car
1.Tom Coronel NL BMW 320 TC
2. Stefano D’Aste IT BMW 320 TC
3. Mehdi Bennani MA BMW 320 TC
4. Markus Weege AT BMW M3 Coupé
5. Jörg Weidinger DE BMW M3 GT4
6. Paul Dalla Lana CA BMW M3
7. Liesette Braams-van den Berg NL BMW 123d
8. Mike LaMarra US BMW 128i Coupé
Terry Borcheller US BMW 128i Coupé
10. Michela Cerruti IT BMW Z4 GT3
11. Bill Auberlen US BMW M3
12. Tom Capizzi US BMW 323i
13. Colin Turkington GB BMW 125i M Sport
14. Giovanni Berton IT BMW M3 GT4
15. Darryl O’Young HK BMW 320 TC

Final results of the 2013 Team Competition.

1.ROAL Motorsport
2.Team Engstler
3.Adrenalin Motorsport
4.PIXUM Team Schubert
5.Hofor Racing
6.Turner Motorsport
7.DULLER Motorsport
8.Team Securtal Sorg Rennsport
9.BimmerWorld Racing
10.BMW Dinamic

By | 2016-09-29T14:01:02+00:00 September 29th, 2016|Categories: BMW DTM 2013|0 Comments

Leave A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.